Any anemics after having gastric bypass?

BlackRoseRNY
on 6/10/14 6:14 am
RNY on 03/19/14 with

What symptoms did you experience?  I'm just trying to rule out anything before I take a bottle of iron. ... just kidding. 

poet_kelly
on 6/10/14 9:43 am - OH

Before you take a bottle of iron, get labs done to see if that's your issue.

View more of my photos at ObesityHelp.com          Kelly

Please note: I AM NOT A DOCTOR.  If you want medical advice, talk to your doctor.  Whatever I post, there is probably some surgeon or other health care provider somewhere that disagrees with me.  If you want to know what your surgeon thinks, then ask him or her.    Check out my blog.

BlackRoseRNY
on 6/10/14 9:26 pm
RNY on 03/19/14 with

Yes I am.  Doctor just ordered them today.  I guess I was trying to rule out the possibility before I got too anxious. 

renee2468
on 6/10/14 10:34 am

I had the surgery about 7 years ago. I was just discovering that I was very anemic in 2/2014 . Being anemic can be for any reason of course I took tests and also I was not treating my body to the best.

BlackRoseRNY
on 6/10/14 9:27 pm
RNY on 03/19/14 with

Yea I've been pretty bad with my iron intake. .. Thanks for sharing! 

H.A.L.A B.
on 6/10/14 9:35 pm, edited 6/11/14 4:17 am

That is not good.  I can't absorb iron and when I take iron (any iron - I tried them all) it really affect my gut due to IBS-C.  

I now need iron infusions - app every other year.   That not only cost me time (5 hours weekly for 4 weeks) plus the infusions go against my deductible and this year alone it would cost me over $2,000 plus pain from iv plus inconvenience of going to hema doc, and the infusion center... Plus side effects from infusions. 

Please take iron so you can avoid that  

Hala. RNY 5/14/2008; Happy At Goal =HAG

"I can eat or do anything I want to - as long as I am willing to deal with the consequences"