EGD Tuesdsay, chest cold today!

Sheri R.
on 7/25/14 6:00 am - Aberdeen, WA

Happy Friday, everyone! I have a fairly general question.  I am scheduled for my EGD on Tuesday but I caught a cold this week.  Figures.  :\  Should I be concerned about having a procedure done just after (or at the end of) being sick?  I am taking Mucinex and other cold meds to keep the coughing down and I will call my doctor on Monday and tell her where I am in my cold cycle, but I was just wondering if anyone else was worried about having a cough or congestion before the EGD.  Thanks!  :) 

CerealKiller Kat71
on 7/25/14 6:24 am
RNY on 12/31/13

I am not a medical expert -- (although I do have an RN degree) -- and I think that sedation is a little more risky with a cold/congestion.  I would talk to my doctor and see what she says.  Perhaps I am overly cautious, but I would probably reschedule on the side of safety.    

"What you eat in private, you wear in public." --- Kat

Sheri R.
on 7/25/14 2:56 pm - Aberdeen, WA

Thanks, Kathryn.  I was afraid of that.  :)  I am on the fringes of the medical industry (medical transcriptionist for a hospital) and my gut tells me the same thing.  I am so sad that I might have to push back my EGD because it took 6 weeks to get this one but I definitely don't want to mess things up at this stage!  I don't see the nutritionist until Aug. 13 but that is supposed to be my final appointment before going to the insurance company.  Oh well.  Maybe it will be gone by Monday (doubtful) but I know in the long run I would feel safer waiting until there is no congestion at all.  Who authorized a second chest cold for me this summer anyway?  I am not amused.  :) 

CerealKiller Kat71
on 7/26/14 5:41 am
RNY on 12/31/13

Aww.  I am so sorry.  It really does suck.  I am hoping that you will be feeling better by Monday and that this will be a moot point.  :-)

"What you eat in private, you wear in public." --- Kat

Sheri R.
on 7/26/14 6:32 am - Aberdeen, WA