How to increase Ferritn Level?

Jen 1959
on 9/25/14 11:38 am - NH

Does our Ferritin level automatically go higher if our Iron level does?

Jennifer

RNY 5/30/08

S/W  236

C/W  115

poet_kelly
on 9/25/14 11:52 am - OH

Usually both will go up if you take more iron.  And taking more iron is the only way to increase your ferritin level (at least that I know of).

View more of my photos at ObesityHelp.com          Kelly

Please note: I AM NOT A DOCTOR.  If you want medical advice, talk to your doctor.  Whatever I post, there is probably some surgeon or other health care provider somewhere that disagrees with me.  If you want to know what your surgeon thinks, then ask him or her.    Check out my blog.

Jen 1959
on 9/25/14 10:25 pm - NH

Thanks Kelly, my Dr. would like my Ferritin to be higher then 68.

Iron is 77

Jennifer

RNY 5/30/08

S/W  236

C/W  115

poet_kelly
on 9/26/14 12:56 am - OH

I'd like my iron to be higher than 77.  Although I'd love my ferritin to be 68 again.  Once upon a time it was.  I think it was 30-something last time I had labs done.  Which was an improvement, but I'd like it to be higher.

So anyway, it looks like taking more iron might be good for you.  Did your doc suggest increasing your iron?

Please note: I AM NOT A DOCTOR.  If you want medical advice, talk to your doctor.  Whatever I post, there is probably some surgeon or other health care provider somewhere that disagrees with me.  If you want to know what your surgeon thinks, then ask him or her.    Check out my blog.

Jen 1959
on 9/27/14 11:11 pm - NH

Yes, my Dr. has increased me back to 300 mgs of Carbonyl Iron along with 2000 mgs of Vitamin C.