Realization that so many of us are "fixers"...

aesposito
on 10/5/14 10:56 pm

Without getting into great detail, I am a professor in a facility that also houses a nursing school.  As I was walking to my class the other day, I was watching the nursing students walk to their classes.  All of them wear the same color scrubs, so it's pretty obvious who they are.

I realized for the first time... I mean it REALLY hit me... a majority of the nursing students are obese.  And morbidly so, not just a bit overweight.

Our surveys every year show that the kind of women who enter our nursing school do so because they "want to help others" and have a "caring personality" (quotes directly from the surveys, not from me).  There has to be a correlation between the rate of morbid obesity in nursing schools and that kind of caring/fixing personality.  And I say "women" because I did not notice any major obesity issues among the male nursing students I saw walking to class.

Thoughts?  Honestly, if I wasn't already finishing up my doctorate soon, I would change my thesis to something like this!

Audrey

Highest weight: 340
Surgery weight: 313
Surgery date: 10/24/11
Current weight 170... 170 pounds lost!!!!

I am not a doctor, but I play one at work.

carimiller9173
on 10/5/14 11:18 pm - Wilmington, DE

Good morning Audrey.

I tend to agree with you that women tend to be the care giver persona.  They tend to put themselves last.  At least I found this to be true of me.  I was a nursing student also. This is very interesting.

Pre-op weight 342.5; Surgery 320.7

M 1-10.5

Oxford Comma Hag
on 10/6/14 2:01 am

I think it is very true. I think perhaps many of us feel that we cannot fix ourselves so we concentrate on others, and/or we concentrate on others to the detriment of ourselves.

I fight badgers with spoons.

National Suicide Prevention Lifeline: 800-273-8255

Suicidepreventionlifeline.org

chris_ruff
on 10/6/14 2:35 am
RNY on 04/07/09 with