Calcium Citrate

Bagspacked
on 10/18/14 11:26 am

My procedure is scheduled for November 21, so I am just learning about vitamins and supplements. Everything my doctor is telling me makes perfect sense. But 4 calcium citrate items spaced 2 hours apart every day forever seems a bit troublesome. I'm wondering how some of you deal with this.

poet_kelly
on 10/18/14 11:37 am - OH

You can absorb about 500 mg calcium citrate at a time.  We need a total of 1500 mg daily, so I take 500 mg three times a day.  With most brands, it takes two pills to get 500 mg, so I take two pills three times a day, at least two hours apart.  Forever.

View more of my photos at ObesityHelp.com          Kelly

Please note: I AM NOT A DOCTOR.  If you want medical advice, talk to your doctor.  Whatever I post, there is probably some surgeon or other health care provider somewhere that disagrees with me.  If you want to know what your surgeon thinks, then ask him or her.    Check out my blog.

Tanya S.
on 10/18/14 1:03 pm
RNY on 03/25/14

Gettin my calcium in every day has taken a lot of work, but I finally found a good routine. Also, remember you can't take calcium within 3 hours of iron (even multivitamin if it has iron). It interferes with absorption. So here is what works for me.

6:30 am out of bed and take my acid reducer

7:00 am take meds and 500mg tablet of calcium and vitamin D and B12

10:00 am take multivitamin and iron

1:00 pm take 2nd 500mg tablet of calcium

3:00 pm take 3rd dose of 500mg calcium (I take the yummy calcium chews from celebrate vitamins for this dose. It is a reward for getting all my doses in as needed for the day.)

9:00pm take multivitamin and call it a day.