Anyone fond liquids go gown a little too easy post op

princessjess73
on 11/5/14 5:50 pm - Lees Summit, MO

Surgery Monday and feeling good but as far as liquid intake goes, I feel like t should be feeling some fullness or stop. I am just sipping like I am supposed to and got in half a protein shake but I think I could have pretty much downed the 8 oz. has anyone experienced this. I hope he made my pouch small enough!

dccyr
on 11/5/14 6:52 pm

It's fine.  Just don't do it because you can.  give you pouch time to heal.  

poet_kelly
on 11/5/14 11:46 pm - OH

Drinking eight ounces won't keep your pouch from healing.

View more of my photos at ObesityHelp.com          Kelly

Please note: I AM NOT A DOCTOR.  If you want medical advice, talk to your doctor.  Whatever I post, there is probably some surgeon or other health care provider somewhere that disagrees with me.  If you want to know what your surgeon thinks, then ask him or her.    Check out my blog.

karenp8
on 11/5/14 10:24 pm - Brighton, IL

Liquids go right through like through a funnel. Also nerves have been disturbed so you won't likely feel full now. That's why measuring is so important! Eat or drink your measured amounts and you will do fine. Once you get to dense foods you will feel a fullness but it probably won't be the same sensation as before surgery. I'm sure you doctor knows his stuff so follow his guidelines and relax!

Kate M.
on 11/5/14 10:24 pm
RNY on 08/08/14

Don't worry about it so much, you need to eat *something* (which is why you're on liquids in the first place). 

Lots of people have had this concern - liquids go straight through but you need them to survive at this point. Give it time! :) 

jefferytmc
on 11/5/14 11:36 pm