vitamins

CHELLEYGIRL
on 11/6/14 11:42 pm - PALMDALE, CA

I havent had my vitamins in over a year, so I already know they say its bad not to take them.... But I want to know why? All my lab work comes back just fine without them. So why is it a must? I am just over 3 years out from my rny

HW-258 SW- 247 CW-147 Surgery date-8/11/2011

chulbert
on 11/7/14 12:27 am - Rochester, NY
RNY on 01/21/13

If you have labs regularly and your numbers are fine then I wouldn't be too concerned.  It's not really any different from the fact I don't take iron because my numbers are actually high.

Just make sure you keep up the testing.

CHELLEYGIRL
on 11/7/14 12:31 am - PALMDALE, CA

Thanks for your response! I do get tested regularly :)

Karen518
on 11/7/14 12:27 am

I'm no expert, and we had surgery around the same time, but the science and theory of the situation says that with reduced consumption and decreased absorption, it is not considered likely-even if it might be theoretically possible-to consume enough of the nutrients needed to maintain your health for the long haul.  

I don't know what labs you had done, or the results, but I hope you are having comprehensive testing done and that you are tracking results closely and monitoring trends to catch drops in levels before they become big problems.  You may have had good vitamin stores from before surgery, but I know that I am not willing to risk all of the complications that can arise due to lack of proper nutrition.  I knew when I decided to have RNY that I was committing to a life of vitamin supplements, and I feel it was well worth it.  I won't preach, but I will encourage you to think about the risks.

CHELLEYGIRL
on 11/7/14 12:37 am - PALMDALE, CA

I appreciate your response :) I have my 12-14 viles of blood drawn every 6 months or so. and everything always checks out fine. :) Thank you for encouragement and not beating me up!!! 

Ocalasam
on 11/7/14 1:33 am
RNY on 12/18/12