Getting Closer to Surgery Date of Dec. 1

Zonechef
on 11/15/14 1:56 am
RNY on 12/03/14

Hi,

I am fairly new here and scheduled for RNY on Dec. 1 (awaiting final insurance confirmation. I am 56yo. I am about 265 (295lbs 2 months ago. I lost 30lbs. in the past 2 month on the south beach diet) however losing weight has never been a problem for me, I seem to do well at it every 4 or 5 years but I always gain it back within 2-3 years. I guess I am going through many of the usual pre-surgery apprehensions. I currently have high blood pressure, high bad cholesterol and very low good cholesterol. I live alone with little family nearby so I am a bit concerned about taking care of myself post op. I only live 2 blocks from the Hospital where I am having my surgery. I am a chef as my handle imply s so my job is rather physically demanding so any advice on return to work time frame would be appreciated. Any and all tips on energy maintenance, hydration, protien intake, e.g. what worked for you ect. would be much appreciated as well as any other tips. Thanks in advance and really looking forward to this and moving toward a healthy life.

clr055
on 11/15/14 4:21 am - Lewisville, ID

Hi. I am in the same boat as you. My surgery date is 12/2, pending ins approval and I also have local family issues. Is there any chance someone could travel to stay with you for a few days? I am flying someone in to watch my daughter while I am in the hospital and stay for 2 days after. Allegiant air is having an airfare sale, maybe you could pay to fly them in? My surgeon won't do the surgery unless I have someone picking me up from the hospital.

Zonechef
on 11/15/14 7:21 am
RNY on 12/03/14