Surgery recovery: what are the first 2-3 days like?

Pokemom
on 12/27/14 3:00 pm
RNY on 12/29/14

Hello, all!  I am so excited--and nervous--about my RNY surgery, scheduled for eary afternoon, Monday, Dec 29.  

I would like to know more about people's recovery experience in the first 2-3 days.  Last year, I had a hysterectomy, and a hysterectomy support site I used focused a lot on the surgical experience.  Although i have been hangking out on OH for a couple of months, i have not seen a lot of "what to expect during early recovry" detail nere.  Is there another place/forum here on OH where I can find that detail?

For example, how much pain should I expect in the hospital and once home?  Will I be comfortable moving around in my bed?  Will it be hard for me to use my core muscles, or is the pain up higher in the abdomen?  I feel a little stupid asking these questions.  I feel I have found, read and absorbed all kinds of info on post surgery diet and lifestyle, and also a lot on the actual surgical reorganization of my insides. But I am just woefully lacking in info about the actual surgery recovery.

if anyone has also had a hysterctomy, can you compare the pain/recovery experience between the two procedures?

Thanks everyone!

Poodlemac
on 12/27/14 4:28 pm
RNY on 09/26/14

I had surgery at 7am on a Friday, was off pain meds by late Saturday evening. The most pain I experienced was gas upon waking. I'd never had any surgery before, so didn't know what to expect. My doc doesn't do drains or, heaven forbid, a feeding tube like some, so I'm sure that helped with my recovery. I did have feelings of regret, or buyers remorse for about a day, but that passed quickly. The only pain I recall besides the gas, was when turning in bed, some soreness or grabbing on the right side. Dr said was normal due to the location of one of the incisions. I'm right at 3 mos out and can honestly say it is the best thing I've ever done for myself!  Good luck and keep us posted!!