Can I have Cream of Wheat

epre361706
on 1/18/15 12:39 am
RNY on 01/09/15

HI, I am on Full liquids sergury on 1/9/15. Can I have cream of wheat real thin or a soft egg? Thanks 

CerealKiller Kat71
on 1/18/15 12:43 am
RNY on 12/31/13

cream of wheat has no nutritional value and is great for weight gain.

eggs are not full liquids.  They'd fall under "soft foods"

A full liquid diet is made up only of fluids and foods that are normally liquid and foods that turn to liquid when they are at room temperature.   It also includes strained creamy soups, tea, juice, Jell-O, protein shakes, SF pudding, and SF popsicles.

"What you eat in private, you wear in public." --- Kat

poet_kelly
on 1/18/15 1:02 am - OH

I was allowed cream of wheat when I was on pureed foods.  I don't think it is considered a liquid.  Eggs certainly are not a liquid.  What does your plan say?

View more of my photos at ObesityHelp.com          Kelly

Please note: I AM NOT A DOCTOR.  If you want medical advice, talk to your doctor.  Whatever I post, there is probably some surgeon or other health care provider somewhere that disagrees with me.  If you want to know what your surgeon thinks, then ask him or her.    Check out my blog.

kayleystar
on 1/18/15 2:42 am
RNY on 01/06/15

Did your surgeon not give you information on what you can have for each stage of your diet? 

I can have Cream of Wheat, however I was able to move directly to pureed foods post-op. 

Highest Weight: 412 | Day of Surgery: 385 | Current: 341
Surgery Date: 1/6/2015 

Chilipepper
on 1/18/15 2:45 am

Cream of Wheat, oatmeal, mashed potatoes and gravy, crackers...these are all pure carbs and will knock you out of ketosis. 

"The first thing I do in the morning is brush my teeth and sharpen my tongue." --- Dorothy Parker  

"You may not like what I say or how I say it, but it may be just exactly what you need to hear." ---Kathryn White

Cicerogirl, The PhD
Version

on 1/18/15 3:11 am - OH