My hair !

browneyes65
on 1/16/15 1:22 pm - IN

I have noticed lately my hair is so limp and lifeless and I don't know why. I naturally have thin hair due to thyroid. I have not noticed hair falling out. I have been taking 5000 Biotin for a year but in the last few months stopped, not sure if it matters my nails are growing good.Should I increase to 10,000 Biotin ? I have only noticed this with my hair for about a month. I have tried different shampoo and conditioner. I will be 50 in a few months and just want my hair to get more body to it. Any suggestions ?

poet_kelly
on 1/16/15 3:29 pm - OH

Biotin will not give your hair more body.  And most people don't need to take extra biotin - most get plenty from a good multi.

View more of my photos at ObesityHelp.com          Kelly

Please note: I AM NOT A DOCTOR.  If you want medical advice, talk to your doctor.  Whatever I post, there is probably some surgeon or other health care provider somewhere that disagrees with me.  If you want to know what your surgeon thinks, then ask him or her.    Check out my blog.

selhard
on 1/16/15 6:11 pm - MN
RNY on 11/26/12

Because of the possibility too much Biotin can contribute to unwanted facial hair, I shyed away from it.  (I do get 45 mcg found in a Centrum Silver chewable vitamin)  From three to fifteen months post-op, I sometimes would wear a pony-tail extension I ordered for $30 off an internet beauty supply place.  A faux pony-tail is easy, fun, and helps give the appearance of more body.   

catalina07
on 1/16/15 9:29 pm - NY
Revision on 11/20/14

Is that true? too much Biotin can give you unwanted facial hair??? I have not heard of that before!! maybe I should stop taking it! I'd rather have thin hair than a beard! 

Revision: Band to Bypass - 11/20/14

Lap Band - 7/30/07 

selhard
on 1/17/15 12:01 pm - MN
RNY on 11/26/12