stupid question

Mybratboys3
on 1/23/15 12:21 pm

trying to figure out serving size vs. sugar grams.... Doc told me to stay under 12 g of sugar per serving (using serving size on the pkg)... so if (for example) an 8 oz serving of O.J. is 30g of sugar, is a 1/2 cup 15g of sugar??  I'm only using that as an example.  A lot of serving sizes are 1 cup or 1/2 cup and I'm not up to 1 cup of ANYTHING right now so that's why I'm trying to figure it out.  I know it sounds stupid but I'm just not sure if that's how it works or if it's 30g of sugar no matter how much you drink (using the O.J. as an example again)

poet_kelly
on 1/23/15 1:13 pm - OH

The amount of sugar would depend on how much you drink.  If one cup has 30 grams, half a cup would have 15 grams.  How could it have 30 grams no matter how much you drink?  I wi**** worked that way.  But no.

View more of my photos at ObesityHelp.com          Kelly

Please note: I AM NOT A DOCTOR.  If you want medical advice, talk to your doctor.  Whatever I post, there is probably some surgeon or other health care provider somewhere that disagrees with me.  If you want to know what your surgeon thinks, then ask him or her.    Check out my blog.

selhard
on 1/23/15 2:12 pm - MN
RNY on 11/26/12

I don't find sugar grams nearly as confusing as supplement dosages.  For example,  the Bariatric Advantage chewable calcium citrate tablets say 500 mg on the FRONT of the bottle.  The BACK of the bottle says a serving size is three chewable tablets which leads me to think it takes three tablets to equal 500 mg.  But, no, a graph on the bottle shows three tablets equal 1500 mg so I'm wrong---I think? .....  Then, I see "% of daily value" read a number like 225%....isn't that over double necessary?  All this makes my brain hurt just like when attempting to complete newspaper crossword puzzles and sudoku. All I know for 100% sure, don't drink O.J., it's not on our list of acceptable food choices! 

Dartmouth
on 1/23/15 10:58 pm - United Kingdom