Winter is Coming - when did you realize the honeymoon phase was over?

HonestOmnivore
on 7/19/17 12:01 pm
RNY on 03/29/17

As a newb, I'm hearing the drum beats of a dark and dangerous future. I think it's good to know that dark times are near, that "Winter is Coming". I now truly appreciate that my weight-loss days are numbered, I need to hit my numbers on target because with each passing month I'll be losing at a decreasing rate no matter (within reason) my intake or my exercise. This knowledge is somewhat apparent in the literature that I reviewed prior to WLS but then it was easy to think that it only represented those who fell off the health wagon. Now I know it can happen to even the most devoted patient.

My question for those who have fallen off the honeymoon phase is three-fold: 1. When did it happen on your WLS timeline? 2. What was the event that triggered you to notice you'd passed to the other side? and 3. How did it impact your life experience (increased hunger, decreased energy, loss of feeling full, gaining weight even when calories were below 1000/day?)

I'm glad I know that the future is going to be dark and difficult, I'm glad I know that there are those who have been able to overcome the odds and remain healthy through this period, but I want to better understand my enemy.

I guess I want to know the various ways it manifests. Is it simply an absorption shift where our bodies suddenly adopt to the RNY? Or is it a metabolism shift? Or hunger hormones that come rushing back? Is it worse than we were prior to WLS? Does this give us a window then make us worse off than we were before?

Thanks!

~Sleeping With A Flashlight

5'4" 49yrs at surgery date

SW - 206 CW - 128
M1 - 20lb M2 - 9 lb M3 - 7 lb M4 - 7 lb M5 - 7 lb M6 - 6 lb M7 - 4 lb M8 - 1 lb M9 - 2 lb M10 - 4 lb M11 - 0lb M12 - 3lb M13 - 0 lb M14 - 2 lb M15 - 0 lb M16 - 3 lb

Kathyjs
on 7/19/17 12:57 pm