when food gets stuck

aesposito
on 10/3/17 2:55 pm

I did OK with pork chops and steak.. but six years out I STILL have occasional issues with dry chicken and ground beef (like meatloaf). Everyone is a little different. Add some (full fat) mayo or something and see if that helps.

Audrey

Highest weight: 340
Surgery weight: 313
Surgery date: 10/24/11
Current weight 170... 170 pounds lost!!!!

I am not a doctor, but I play one at work.

pammieanne
on 10/3/17 3:58 pm - OK
RNY on 05/16/16

I'm 16 months out, and just yesterday got chicken breast stuck (and it was cooked in a mushroom gravy!)... I thought I was over it, but I am pretty positive I didn't chew it well enough, and ate it too quickly.

It' stinks, but at only 6 weeks, I couldn't have eaten pork or chicken... and for some reason, pouch tuna was my nemesis back then.

It does get better, but you can never get complacent on chewing and taking your time eating.

Height 5'5" HW 260 SW 251 CW 141.6 (2/27/18)

RNY 5-16-16 Pre-Op 9lbs, M1-18.5lbs, M2-18.1lbs, M3-14.8lbs, M4-10.4lbs, M5-9.2lbs, M6-7lbs, M7-6.2lbs, M8-8.8lbs,M9-7.8lbs, M10-1 lb, M11-.6lbs, M12-4.4lbs

cowdoc
on 10/4/17 6:13 am
RNY on 09/12/17

I'm so glad you posted this. I have been having some regular almost daily issues with the feeling that I have a large pill lodged in my esophagus - even though I haven't taken a pill. I've been trying to figure out what things trigger this feeling and so far - pureed tofu, cottage cheese, ice water, and when I eat more than 2 oz. of anything. There have been several days this week where I have started out the day well then ended up just drinking another protein shake and tepid water because that is all I can tolerate. Ironically, this feeling doesn't happen after I've taken pills. :)