SIBO

danie11e
on 2/8/18 5:35 am

Hi -

Wondering if anyone has been diagnosed with SIBO ((small intestinal bacteria overgrowth) post RNY? I was recently diagnosed with SIBO with constipation, and completed the first round of antibiotics. So far I have seen zero improvements in symptoms, so I am wondering what treatments and/or diet changes may have helped others.

thanks!

RNY 03/02/2015

I'm worth it!

Grim_Traveller
on 2/8/18 5:54 am
RNY on 08/21/12

Hey stranger! Sorry about the SIBO, but it's good to see you.

I have no experience with it, but a fair number do. Hala probably knows the most about it. I'm sure she'll stop in.

6'3" tall, male.

Highest weight was 475. RNY on 08/21/12. Current weight: 198.

M1 -24; M2 -21; M3 -19; M4 -21; M5 -13; M6 -21; M7 -10; M8 -16; M9 -10; M10 -8; M11 -6; M12 -5.

danie11e
on 2/8/18 8:44 am

Thank you! I need to get back here more often, life has been kind of crazy! But now that it's settled back down I hope to be here more often and really get back on track. Hope all is well!

RNY 03/02/2015

I'm worth it!

H.A.L.A B.
on 2/8/18 8:35 am

I deal with that for a while. It sucks. I am maintaining mine with antibiotics, and diet and probiotics.

what antibiotics they gave you? for how long? what are your issues? etc.

Hala. RNY 5/14/2008; Happy At Goal =HAG

"I can eat or do anything I want to - as long as I am willing to deal with the consequences"

"Failure is not falling down, It is not getting up once you fell... So pick yourself up, dust yourself off, and start all over again...."

danie11e
on 2/8/18 8:47 am

I have had lots of abdominal bloating, constipation, and at times really bad gas. I did the breathe test to confirm. They tried to put me on rifaximin, but insurance said no. So I did 10 days of Augmentin. In two weeks he wants to try Cipro. He have no advice on vitamins/diet, which I find a little frustrating. I'm thinking I might find a new GI, and I have a wonkey digestive system between the RNY and no gallbladder...