Acid Reflux/Heartburn

jennhales
on 2/23/18 10:13 am - lehi, UT

I have a lap band and have horrible acid reflux and heartburn. The GI Dr recommending taking the lap band out (HALLELUJAH) I am private pay so I was thinking if I am going to go under to get it taken out I might as well have a revision to RNY.

I was under the impression that RNY would solve my acid reflux and heartburn issues but I am reading otherwise.

Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks~Jen

ladygodiva1228
on 2/23/18 11:00 am - Putnam, CT
Revision on 02/04/15

It resolved mine almost instantly. I had been eating tums like tic tacs for a few years until I had my band out and revised to the bypass. Best decision I ever made.

Now I know I have seen folks going from band to sleeve have increased reflux and end up having to revise again to the bypass.

Dr. Sanchez Lapband 9/12/2003
hw305/revision w280/cw197/gw150

Revision from Lap Band to Bypass on 2/4/2015 by Dr. Pohl

jennhales
on 2/23/18 1:47 pm - lehi, UT

I love good news, THANK YOU

stacyrg
on 2/23/18 11:05 am
VSG on 05/12/14

I converted from VSG to RNY because of severe reflux that only occurred after my surgery. While it didn't make my acid disappear 100%, it is much, much better and is now controlled by Zantac on an as needed basis. Prior to revision, Zantac wouldn't touch my acid.

Queen JB
on 2/23/18 11:26 am
RNY on 07/20/15

My acid is about 97% gone after losing the band and revising to RNY. In hindsight, I can't believe I lived with such bad symptoms, and I am kicking myself for waiting so long to revise. I love my RNY!

• High Weight before LapBand: 200 (2008)
  • High Weight before RNY: 160 (2015)
  • Lowest post-op weight: 110 (2016)
  • Maintenance Weight: 120 (2017-2019)
  • Battling Regain Weight: 135 (current)

(deactivated member)
on 2/23/18 12:49 pm

I had horrible lifelong acid reflux due to large congenital birth defect - a giant hiatal hernia.