Update on labs and question!

Lishamc1
on 3/13/19 10:46 am

Hello all! I hope you are all doing fantastic! I am now 18 months post op! As some of you may remember I donated blood a while back as they told me it was ok as long as I felt good and my iron was good, which I did one time and it tanked my ferritin to a 8! I have now been on iron supplement for the last 3 months and just had labs done! Even though they are back to normal I learned from it and am sad to say I will never donate blood again. I have had an increase in anxiety and depression and sleeping is near impossible. I discussed this with him and he believes the increase in anxiety and depression could be due to the lack of sleep and prescribed Ambien. I'm a nurse that does shift work, but want to know if any of you have been on Ambien and what your thoughts are on it. Of course I've heard the horror stories but Tylenol pm, melatonin, and zquil havent helped at all.

Highest weight: 265, surgery weight: 245, surgery date: 9/11/17 RNY m1: - 26 m2: - 14 m3: -15 m4: -10 m5: -8 m6: - 4 m7: -6.5 m8: - 1.5 m9: -3 m10: - 0 m11: - 2 m12: -0

Librarian67
on 3/13/19 12:02 pm
RNY on 02/28/17

I currently use time-release Melatonin to help with sleeping. Prior to surgery, I was on an anti-depressant that knocked me out and when my doctor suggested that I try it again, I took it 1 time and decided that the awful feeling in the morning wouldn't happen again. So I can't speak to using Ambien post-op.

I will say that I worked shift work, especially 12-hour nights for years and it can really be horrible and make you feel dead, triggering lots of binging. Just be careful and remember to plan good meals and snacks and to drink LOTS of non-caffeinated beverages to balance your body.

Wishing you a good solution!

HW: 248+, SW (RNY: 2/28/17): 244, GW (10/17): 125; LW: 115; 45# regain (19-20); CW: 135.6; new goal: 135; Plastics: Ext mastopexy, Ext abdominoplasty-5/18/2018; diagnosed w/ gastroparesis 11/20.

Lishamc1