Fastest way to reverse protein deficiency?

Amy R.
on 7/21/19 9:13 pm

Hey all.

Anybody have ideas on how to reverse a sizable protein deficiency? Long story, bottom line: hard lesson learned.

I'd really appreciate any thoughts. I've got no experience with this whatsoever. Thanks for whatever you've got!

Grim_Traveller
on 7/22/19 3:29 am
RNY on 08/21/12

Just focus on protein. Some types are more digestible than others. Whey protein and eggs are at the top of the list for digestibility scores. Meat proteins are close behind. Plant proteins are farther down, some by a lot. Collagen is at rock bottom.

6'3" tall, male.

Highest weight was 475. RNY on 08/21/12. Current weight: 198.

M1 -24; M2 -21; M3 -19; M4 -21; M5 -13; M6 -21; M7 -10; M8 -16; M9 -10; M10 -8; M11 -6; M12 -5.

Amy R.
on 7/22/19 8:43 am

Thank you. I was going to ask if collagen was helpful now that I'm pretty far out.

Can we actually eat so much protein that we over-stress our systems? I've got stage three kidney disease and haven't heard back from nephrology yet.

Grim_Traveller
on 7/22/19 4:41 pm
RNY on 08/21/12

High protein isn't an ussue, unless you have an existing kidney problem. You should really get a plan from a doc who knows about both.

6'3" tall, male.

Highest weight was 475. RNY on 08/21/12. Current weight: 198.

M1 -24; M2 -21; M3 -19; M4 -21; M5 -13; M6 -21; M7 -10; M8 -16; M9 -10; M10 -8; M11 -6; M12 -5.

Amy R.
on 7/23/19 8:37 am

Thanks! Still waiting for a return call from nephrologist. Should happen today for sure.

(deactivated member)
on 7/23/19 7:08 am

DEFINITELY! What does your doctor say ? Usually low protein diets are recommended for kidney patients !

H.A.L.A B.
on 7/22/19 5:10 am

I'm working on that right also. Since I can't have dairy (I'm allergic to the milk proteins) or soy, I make sure I use other proteins. Eggs are great, and I can eat 3-4 eggs. I often add avocados to increase the fat.