Treating b12 deficiency. I may have REALLY messed up.

shygirlxoxo
on 1/10/20 4:26 pm - savannah, GA
RNY on 12/04/12

First off I have to admit something awful. I am either 7 or 8 years out from my rny and I have been terrible with vitamin compliance. I've probably only had a total of 6 months of b12 supplements. I don't know why, it's the dumbest thing I've done so far. I guess it was the mind set of gaining weight means if I can absorb calories then it's getting what it needs. I'm a nurse, I know that's not true but I guess I just messed up. Recently I started feeling extremely tired. Ive never taken naps and all of a sudden had to sleep halfway through the day. So I decided to go back on my vitamins. Bariatric multis and dry d3 and sublingual b12. I've been back on about a week now and no longer napping but now my body feels terrible. It stated with my feet tingling and burning, random itches, foot and hand vibrations and *****ling. Tonight I've been hit with yawns, yawns that won't stop for almost an hour even though I'm not sleepy. Im assuming these symptoms are from the nerve impulses restarting, I don't know. Ok so another big problem is that I have no health insurance, none. It's not available to me, so my choices are deal with it and hope for the best of go to ER. Doesn't seem like an ER problem but I just don't know if it is something I can get under control on my own. Does anyone have any experience treating a severe b12 deficiency and did you have anything like this happen?

-Anna  HW: 401 | SW: 377 (12/04/12) Blog: http://notfattabulous.blogspot.com

H.A.L.A B.
on 1/10/20 5:43 pm

Sorry you are dealing with that. Sometimes even smart people do irresponsible things.