What's on your Wednesday Menu?

catwoman7
on 9/9/20 8:32 am
RNY on 06/03/15

thanks! I did a youtube Zumba class and took a shower, so now I'm feeling a little calmer...

White Dove
on 9/9/20 8:21 am - Warren, OH

In my family, people tend to live until about 100 and to stay in their own homes. The neighborhood where I live has a lot of very active and healthy senior citizens. I see the guys who are in their late 80's out riding their bicycles, mowing the lawn, and taking care of their gardens.

Even without kids to help you, there are many services to make life easier for seniors. Sometimes when I have doctor appointments, I use the ride service provided by my insurance to get back and forth. I do that in bad weather and when I have an eye appointment where they dilate my eye and it is uncomfortable to drive for a few hours after that.

It makes sense to me to pay someone to do things like painting, washing windows, cleaning gutters, housework, and lawn care instead of paying for a retirement home. I am still able to do those things, but know that a fall now could be life changing.

Real life begins where your comfort zone ends

catwoman7
on 9/9/20 8:37 am
RNY on 06/03/15

I'd like to stay in my house as long as I can as well.

Most people in my dad's family have lived into their 90s (my father died at 81, but he didn't take very good care of himself (e.g., heavy smoker) and had Alzheimer's to boot). Most people on my mom's side live to their mid-80s, but are in pretty good health. No one I know of on that side had any serious diseases - they tend to just drop dead of heart attacks or strokes just out of the blue (which is the best way to go, IMHO). So anyway, I may have a couple more decades of good health left!

Teenie
on 9/9/20 6:39 am - Pittsburgh , PA
RNY on 12/19/17

Good Morning JB and Menuers,

Hump Day! Your right JB this week is hurrying by. I only worked one day and I am already ready for a weekend.