New here, how to deal with Dumping? Can it hurt me long term?

ReginaL
on 9/24/20 11:40 am
RNY on 06/25/20

I'm new here and had surgery in June. I didn't know about this site until after I had surgery, but sure wish I had. The office was pretty good about most information I think but didn't mention what is called dumping syndrome or I missed it, and I need to know if anyone can describe it and how many symptoms can there be? Can you have it more than once, and is it harmful long term?

Sorry for so many questions, but I trust people who are living the experience.

catwoman7
on 9/24/20 1:36 pm, edited 9/24/20 6:37 am
RNY on 06/03/15

not everyone dumps. The statistic that's been thrown around here (and I have no idea if there's any medical research behind this) is that about 30% of us dump. But I've been hanging around on this site for around six years, and based on what I've seen/read, I wouldn't doubt that statistic. It seems like a lot of us have never dumped...

dumping is when sugar (although I've read that fat can cause it, too) - passes into your small intestine too quickly, and your body goes into overdrive trying to deal with it. People experience sweating, chills, heart palpitations, weakness, diarrhea, sometimes nausea and vomiting.

evidently it happens sometimes with sleeve patients, too, but it's more common in bypass patients because the pyloric valve is bypassed, meaning there's no "gatekeeper" at the entrance to your small intestine.

you can avoid it by limiting - or avoiding - sugar.

I don't think it's necessarily harmful long term, but people who've experienced it have said it's something you DON'T want to experience...

ReginaL
on 9/25/20 8:19 am
RNY on 06/25/20