aesposito’s Posts

aesposito
on 10/9/17 7:49 am
Topic: RE: Post op diet

Yep I sure am. We routinely hear of surgeons who tell their patients it's OK to eat potatoes, bread, fruit etc in the weeks following rny. Or low-fat sugar-added foods. Or juices. Or oatmeal and cream of wheat and grits.

If it's wrong, and if it flies in the face of science, then yes, ignore that part of the surgeon's plan.

The good news is, she can always ignore me too... as can you... if you wish to.

Audrey

Highest weight: 340
Surgery weight: 313
Surgery date: 10/24/11
Current weight 170... 170 pounds lost!!!!

I am not a doctor, but I play one at work.

aesposito
on 10/8/17 4:55 pm
Topic: RE: Post op diet

No, DON'T follow your plan. Surgeons can be, and often are, wrong. Low-fat foods often have sugar and carbs added to maintain flavor and "mouth feel". Eat full-fat beans, cheese, etc. Unless you have a bad gall bladder, you will not gain weight from these foods. And be careful of yogurt and milk due to its high natural sugar content. Remember that whether it's sugar, natural sugar, fruit sugar, fructose, glucose, whole grain, 100 percent grain, wheat, carbs or lactose, it is still sugar.

And if you don't believe me (and maybe you should, given I have had some degree of success, but anyway...), believe the ASMBS, which your doctor is most certainly a member of, which says stay under 50 g of carbs a day.

https://asmbs.org/patients/life-after-bariatric-surgery

Audrey

aesposito
on 10/3/17 6:43 pm
Topic: RE: Six years out and anemic again... keep up those vitamins people!

thank you Daisydoo! I am also perimenopausel and it's been an adventure, to say the least!

Audrey

aesposito
on 10/3/17 6:42 pm

I have not tried iron patches but I am considering all possibilities. I have ADD and way too many children... and as a result I tend to forget vitamins from time to time... patches may certainly help...

Audrey

aesposito
on 10/3/17 4:29 pm