Hi sleep apneics!

MommaSyn
on 3/31/11 2:12 pm - Cook, MN
Hi! I am an old newbie. Just had a RNY on 3-21-11. Still on my C-PAP. Just wondering how long it was before anyone noted a change or that they were getting too much air at time of sleep after their surgery.
    Cindy Prior AKA Momma Syn                                                 
dwpersel
on 3/31/11 10:20 pm - Fredericksburg, VA
In spite of my WLS, I had my CPAP settings increase! ARGGHH! Diana
MommaSyn
on 4/1/11 2:50 am - Cook, MN
Oh no! So sorry to hear that! However sleep apnea is not caused by obesity alone. I have a sister-in-law who could never be considered overweight, much less obese and she has a CPAP as well. Maybe it truly is the obstructive kind. Hang in there dear. I will wait and see, I guess.
YankeeRose
on 4/7/11 11:41 am - Meadville, PA
Hi! I just got my CPAP 2 months ago. My setting is 12. I have not had my surgery yet. I go to see the Pulmonologist tomorrow and I am hoping he will finally sign off for me to have the surgery. He is the last one I am waiting for to give his okay. I just hope I have worn it enough for him to consider me "compliant with treatment." I still have nights where I wake up and the CPAP is off but I don't remember taking it off. Like you, I am hoping that once I lose weight I will no longer need the CPAP.

Tammy
Luck 'o the Irish
HW399/SW362/CW219/GW130
*37 lbs were lost pre-op

MommaSyn
on 4/11/11 2:54 am - Cook, MN
Hi! I have had mine since 1997. I too am at 12 pounds. Some people are able to get off of this thing if the snoring is caused by obesity. Others have the obstructive sleep apnea and have to have the machine for life. I really would like to ge off of this thing at night. Not real romantic for hubby, but we survive. Hang in there, your doc will come through! I have faith that you will get your surgery right on time!!!
Mishelle R.
on 4/12/11 9:44 am