Newbie.... with a whole bunch of issues!

Beth H
on 9/25/04 7:39 pm - NY
Hi everyone - this is my first-ever post at ObesityHelp, as I've only been lurking for a couple of weeks now. I'm just beginning to consider WLS and reading everything I can get my hands on. When I found this forum last night, I realized this might be the best place to get a lot of my questions answered. I apologize in advance for the sheer length of this post! I (finally) believe I have sleep apnea, after fighting the idea for quite some time. My husband has been telling me (and family, which is extremely embarrassing...) about my horrible snoring, and how I stop breathing for a bit, and then 'snort' myself awake and gasp in air. I've said no for a long time because I have absolutely no memory of waking this way, ever. Also, having seen my father-in-law's CPAP machine when he was first diagnosed about 8 years ago, I just think there's no way I could ever sleep with that on, since I have such sleep problems to begin with. I suffer from insomnia and have terrible difficulty falling asleep, and staying asleep. Most nights I don't get in to bed until well after 1 AM, and it still can take me an hour or more to fall asleep. I wake up frequently having to go to the bathroom, so I'm out of bed several times per night. (There've been really bad nights where I could swear the bathroom trips are hourly.) I know I should stop drinking anything by about 6 p.m. probably, but I hate being thirsty. I don't drink inordinate amounts, but if I'm watching TV or on the computer, I do have a nice glass of ice water sitting there with me. (Hey, at least I'm not munching junk foods at night....) I know thirst can be a sign of diabetes, but as of my last checkup, I was still OK on that front. I know part of the waking/bathroom breaks are because I'm really nervous about wetting the bed. That's happened a few times over the last 15 years, and it's really upsetting when it does. So, here it is, 5 AM, and I'm having an