Help. confused about surgeries

Rayrole
on 2/12/11 5:42 am - OK
I am unsure about which surgery is right for me.. or if it right for me at all. I am 17, 5'8,  280lbs
is anyone my age gotten this surgery and if so how did you do?

kap63
on 2/15/11 6:49 am
My 17 year old daughter had the Vertical Sleeve Gastrectomy 10/11/10 and has lost 60 lbs and a total of  78 lbs from her consult weight of 284. The VSG reduces the size of the stomach,but keeps the anatomy of the stomach and intestines intact.

We attended a seminar that our surgeon's office hosted. He explained the 4 main WLS options ( band,RNY,sleeve and DS). At the seminar he was available to answer questions and also spent a great deal of time at our consult making sure we understood our options and the pros and cons of each. Given my daughter's age,weight and family history of obesity we chose the VSG. I am a nurse and having a non-malabsorptive surgery  preserving her normal anatomy  was important to me. My daughter saw me live with the DS ( which is a sleeve stomach with intestines by-passed ) for a year before she had surgery and understood the changes that would need to be made.

My daughter had tried numerous diets and would lose 20 or 30 pounds but could not maintain that loss. She has PCOS and hypothyroidism so those pounds were a struggle. It is very disheartening to work that hard and still have a 100 or more pounds to lose.I don't have to tell you what it is like to be an overweight teenager.She was miserable and it affected every area of her life.