Vertical banded gastroplasty surgery for 10 years

mark1981
on 12/21/14 12:22 pm

Hello Folks,

Actually this is my first time to join bariatricpal fourms.

I had Vertical banded gastroplasty surgery in Feb. 2005 ( 10 years ago), I was 364 lb, the Operation went fine with me and i kept losing weight for about 4 years untill i got 218 lb. which is great, in 2010 and 2011 I started to gain some weight i thought it's normal but right now i started to eat again like nothing happened, and i gain half the weight again and I am almost 298lb.

I am so disappointed and feel very bad , is there any one has the same VBG and Revisions it to GS and how it works, and what about the result

thanks

Stapler
on 6/16/15 8:33 am

Hi Mark,

It's been awhile since you've asked this question, yet I didn't see this until today.

I had a VBGB in 1998 and lost all my weight but by late 2004 - I noticed that I was able to eat larger quantities and also was able to eat ice cream again w/o dumping!  NOT good, as naturally I ate more ice cream than ever, trying to make up for lost time, I guess.

What happened was I had actually pulled out my staples.  I remember that I could feel it, it didn't hurt at all but it was a strange sensation.  It would happen when I was doing heavy work;  raking, shoveling, stacking wood, etc., and would happen out of the blue.

I had a CT scan to confirm and sure enough - I had pulled them all out.

The doctor really jumped through hoops for me to get my insurance to pay for it - stating that the surgery had failed and needed to be redone.

Thankfully, I was approved and had the redo in August of 2005 and haven't had any issues yet.

The doctor said he put in a 'super-duper double line of staples' so that it shouldn't happen again.

I've re-lost the gained weight during my 'reprieve' lol, and now live well below my original goal weight.