Pain in Left Side ? Anyone ?

alicia601
on 3/29/11 4:37 am - NY
I been having this pain right under the left side of my rib cage for the past 2 weeks. It then radiates around to left side of my back a little. I dont know what the hell it could be. I dont know if it's gas pain, but I am on pepcid 2 times daily for gas. Has anyone ever experienced this kind of pain before? It's sometimes sharp like a knife point is poking at my left ribs. I dont feel it so much when I stand but when I sit, I feel it constantly. I am 8 weeks out of surgery and overall feeling good exept for this. Anyone ?

Linda M.
on 3/29/11 5:00 am - TX
I am only two weeks out, but, as a nurse I would guess that you need to get back to using your incentive spirometer, to increase your lung strength. It couldn't hurt, Good luck!
(deactivated member)
on 3/29/11 5:04 am
i dont know but want to say i hope it gets better soon
MrsClaus09
on 3/29/11 7:58 am
I have a similar pain in the same location but mine doesn't radiate to my back.  It's basically below my left breast and, like you said, feels like it has something to do with my ribs.  I'm only two weeks out today but called my surgeon's office last week to ask about it.  My nurse told me it is likely a muscle and that it could take awhile to feel better.  And, again...like you, other than this pain, I feel great!  But, the pain comes and goes and sometimes it's so bad, I'll still take my Roxicet.  Also, my pain is made worse by wearing a bra - not sure if you've noticed anything like that.

I see my surgeon for a follow up next week and will be asking about it again.  It's a real pain!
My journey:   http://abowlfullofjelly.blogspot.com/ w/ March 2011 Sleevers List
"Sleeve Santa Sleeve!"

HW: 309 ~ PreOpW: 306 ~ SW: 293 ~ CW: 184  
Carmelita
on 3/29/11 10:30 am, edited 3/29/11 10:34 am - Four Corners, NM
Ac****ep messin up

As long as yer not havin any other symptoms at all....sounds to me to be just the "normal"