Pre-Op Questions

Theresa Z.
on 8/31/11 10:56 am - Dayton, OH
 I am a super newbie and have tried the search bar but I have many questions I am not getting answered. 

Background:
*No surgery date yet but should be soon, within next few weeks
*Self pay (that sucks so bad but hope its worth it)
*No pre-op diet required, only  24 hour liquid diet fast thing....(what the office told me, haven't seen the surgeon yet) --- Is this normal???

What if I want to do the liquid diet, sounds like it is something that is good to do before the pre-op.  I want success so will do what I need to make sure I get there.

What does the liquid diet consist of? (specifically) Any other pre-op pointers?

thanks everyone!!!
Palmettosleeve
on 8/31/11 11:22 am - Pawleys Island, SC
i met my surgeon during my consultation but didnt see him again until the last apt before surgery. you should prob have already met him. ask to meet him next time! the purpose of the preop diet is to make your liver less fatty so that the dr has an easier time getting to your tummy, so your surgery is safer. i had to do a 3 week preop diet of nothing but protein shakes called muscle milk light (they sell them at gnc, walmart, anywhere really). you could use any protein shake as long as it has less than 6 sugars and at least 20 protein. if you feel you need to do it to be safe, i would. losing weight preop is always a good idea. some drs require 2 shakes a day then 1 meal w/ lean protein & veggies. no startches, no sugars, no carbs. basically, just eat healthier in the next few weeks and try to lose weight. the more weight you lose, the less fatty your liver, the safer your surgery. good luck!
starting weight: 341, goal weight: 150, 1st goal: 250, 2nd goal: 199, final goal: 150

IrishColleen
on 8/31/11 11:59 am - Owosso, MI