4 days post op

amidwife4u
on 10/2/11 1:10 pm
Well, today is day four post op and I am feeling pretty good.  I had my surgery wit Dr. Aceves on 9-28-11.  His team and the hospital in Mexicali were great.  This will be a quick run down of my experience. I am a Nurse Practitioner and will try to give some details that others may not have understood during their surgical and recovery process.

We headed to San Diego a few  days before our scheduled pick up at the airport to celbrate our 25th anniversary.  Had a blast in San Diego, and then met Ernesto, our driver at the airport on Tuesday.  He drove us to the hospital in Mexicali. It was spotless.  We had our lab work done, EKG and CXR.  Then Ernesto drove us to the Crowne Plaza Hotel.  It was VERY nice.  Staff there were great and got us a taxi so we could go do a little shopping.  Had a late lunch at the mall, did some shopping and then headed back to the hotel.  We squeezed 4 of us into a little tiny taxi, but it worked and the drivers of both taxi's were great.  We never once felt unsafe in any way.  In fact, while in the mall, a little girl of about 2 years was separated from her mother and was crying.  One of the shop owners came out and took her to a near by shop (with women attendants) to have them find her mom..(he was the only worker at his shop and couldn't leave).  He also helped us call a taxi, since we Americans didn't know who to call.  Headed back to the hotel and had a very nice dinner at the hotel restaurant.  We were waited on like we were at a gourmet restaurant in the states that would cost 100.00 a plate.  Prices were reasonable and the food was fabulous. 

While doing our pre op work up at the hospital we were given a sleeping pill (Ativan: actually anti anxiety, but helps folks sleep too) and an antibiotic pill to take at bedtime.