Being bitten on the behind.....(long post)

desertmom
on 6/19/12 4:21 pm - Dubai, XX
VSG on 03/13/12
By our own words and our own advice.

In 2004 I had the lapband which was all the rage at that point.Instead of getting thinner I got sick.After much struggles I decided to make the best of the situation and I dieted(LOW CARB) and exercise,like only a new bariatric patient can,and I lost 120 pounds.I did this while the band was unfilled.

There,I was a VET,almost at goal and I too knew it all.Gave advice about proteins,exercise,sticking to the plan...I really thought I had this weight issue licked.Tough love is what I thought some needed..lol

A few years after weightloss surgery it gets old,yes you forget the trauma of the surgery,the excitment of being thin (people get use to the way you look,you get use to it,yes you will!) and life happens every day.No one in their right mind stays low carb for the rest of their life if they are not forced to (like some are by dumping with GB)

Problem was that I was just on another diet for a few years,I didnt learn what normal was.Our default as humans are normal,well,most of us anyway.

I started adding little bits of carbs with big bounceback weight.And the cycle of self critisizm and defeat started again.Low carbing didnt bring the life changes I needed.For me.If it works for you,great!

Sometimes when I read the posts of people a year,a year and a half 2 years our,I laugh.We get so self righteous about the things we think we know.

Now some will say it will never be easy and you will always have to be strict with yourself and you cannot eat more calories or carbs,well it is your prerogative to believe that for the rest of your life.

I however have chosen a different strategy as I am making an effort not to be so sure of things than I previously thought I was so sure of.