I'm a Newbie and I'm Overwhelmed!!!!!!

Married2005
on 9/5/12 5:24 pm - NJ
I am a 47yr old woman who has been unhappy with my weight gain over the past 10yrs. Unsuccessful weight loss, diabetes and just recently high cholesterol has made me open to WLS.  I had my consult in July, attended support group and have been reading EVERYTHING I can on WLS and primarily VSG.  MY mind keeps going back and forth with the thought that maybe I have not tried hard enough to loose weight on my own.  But deep down in my heart I know I cannot do it on my own.  VSG seems to me what would work for me but after reading some of the postings I'm getting overwhelmed.

My insrance requires I wait 6 mos and I have since had knee surgery and to me i'm getting bigger by the day.  I'm reading that I should be trying to loose weight during this 6 mos but to be honest I have not even tried.  One day I'm optimistic and the next day I'm thinking my experience is going to be so horrible that I'm gonna wish I never did it.

Ironically and prayerfully, I have never read anyone say such a thing like they wish they had not done it.  I guess as I move closer and closer to the point  when I have to start making my other doctor appts (since I have to wait until January 2013) I will feel a little better.

For those of you who have been where I am please help me!
INgirl
on 9/5/12 5:35 pm
Please just keep reading, researching (all 3 effective surgeries- VSG, DS and RNY.. though I really think VSG & DS are best, DS especially for the diabetes/chol.) Go online and read all the medical studies you can dig up, search terms like partial gastrectomy, BPD/DS and such so you get the most hits on the papers you can find.. and take the time to really educate yourself about the post-op life of all of them. The message boards are great to see the real nitty-gritty post-op life, but they really can't sub for real research and facts.