To Sleeve or Not to Sleeve....

icca1982
on 12/3/12 11:54 pm, edited 12/4/12 6:20 am - Phoenix, AZ
VSG on 04/04/13

Hello everyone,

I'm new to OH and am still in the process of choosing which surgery I'm most interested in.  I've attended a seminar but haven't had my consultation with the surgeon yet and I still have to complete my three month supervised diet.  Prior to attending the seminar, I was really wanting the VSG, however, the surgeon said that weight loss expectancy with the sleeve is 60% excess body weight after two years vs a 75% loss after a year with the RNY.  I've read a bunch of posts on here and the statistics associated with the sleeve seem to be extremely conservative to me.  I'm most interested in sleeve vs RNY because of the malabsorption issues associated with RNY.  I am currently 335 lbs and I'm 5'1.  Any advice is welcome. Thank you all so much! Reading about your journeys has been extremely inspirational to me.

Jessica

suzie2241
on 12/4/12 12:00 am
VSG on 11/02/12

Hi! Welcome!

I chose the sleeve over RNY mostly for the malabsorption. I did not want to have to take so many supplements for the rest of my life.

I also did not want to have any problems with dumping syndrome.

I know they say 60% with the sleeve, but I have seen and read about so many who lost ALL their excess weight; so I know it can be done - I just have to work it! :)

Julia HasHerLifeNow
on 12/4/12 12:00 am
VSG on 10/09/12