The brief reappearance of Ruggie

ruggie
on 12/9/12 3:56 am, edited 12/9/12 3:58 am - Sacramento, CA

Hi guys - I'm Ruggie, and it turns out, I'm not a professional weight loss patient.  Before I expound, here's some Fun Facts(tm):

• Male
  • 5'10"
  • Highest weight:  310
  • Goal weight: 160
  • Current weight:  151

Also:

You may know me for:

And I:

• Wear size 29 or 30 jeans (usually 30).
  • Wear a size small shirt
  • These two facts blow my mind on a daily basis

So, I really feel "done" now.  I stopped leading the weight-loss support group I had been organizing in Sacramento and stopped going to my surgeon's support group as well.  I stopped freaking out about regain - not that I don't think about it or guard against it, but it's no longer an emotional worry.  Things are so routine and normal now that I sometimes forget that I'm a "patient" - and I think that just might be a good thing.  

I don't count my calories anymore but I do pretty much eat the same foods.   I still have two Nectar protein shakes a day (adding 46g) and my lunch always has 1/2 cup cottage cheese and 3oz of a lean meat, breakfast is always a high-protein Greek yogurt.  

I used to freak about the possibility of regain - like I mentioned - but I've been oddly stable.  My weight hasn't varied more than 3-4 pounds without me really trying.  One one hand, I still have some fat (especially in my thighs) and could lose more weight, but on the other hand, I'm already 150 at 5'10"!  I go back and forth on this.   I now only weigh myself twice a week (used to be daily).  I still keep active and run.