HIVES..Itching..anyone else experience this?

Jodysdreams
on 1/2/13 2:46 pm
I am still suffering with hives like crazy! My doctor gave me a shot, put me on prednisone and I still have itchy hives all over my legs! I am starting to think I might have a allergy to the metal staples..I have gone over everything else..this started after surgery..I am at a loss! Has anyone else experienced this? I am still in misery!

Jody

moonglo82
on 1/2/13 2:50 pm
VSG on 03/29/12

Just my initial thought, but my guess is that the hives would be closer to your staples (we are talking staples from vsg surgery, right?), and not your legs primarily, if the staples were the cause.  IMO, this sounds more like an allergy to some kind of medicine you are on, or maybe even something you are eating.  I've never heard of anyone being allergic to those staples, as they are supposed to be hypo-allergenic... but I'm no expert, either.

Wish I had more advice, but I hope you get this straightened out soon.  I would call the doctor back tomorrow and let them know you still have a problem with this.

Highest weight: 277 Starting Weight: 250  Surgery Weight: 241  Current Weight: 130

Goal Reached in 10.5 months :)

Jodysdreams
on 1/2/13 3:04 pm

Yep! Going back next week,,maybe she can get me allergy tested..this is hard to deal with! I have never had anything like this..so it is direct affect of surgery..somehow..thanks for the reply!

Jody

SuzyNZ
on 1/2/13 3:04 pm
VSG on 09/17/12
I had this too, but it was around my neck. I get it as a reaction to one of the anaesthesia drugs. About a week after surgery I literally wanted to scratch me neck off and had the most gorgeous rash all over my chest. It was VERY attractive!...lol

I spoke to the anaesthetist and he told me to take antihistamines (I used Razene as I had that at home) and I also got a high strength topical antihistamine creme from the pharmacy. Can't remember the name of it, but Im in New Zealand, so brands are different here in some cases.