Restriction

jpsp30
on 3/14/13 1:48 pm - TN

If I could recognize what "full" is; I'd have possible never gotten fat. The truth is that I have overeaten my stomach for almost 50 years. Now, I am going to have a surgery that makes my stomach smaller and will "restrict" me. How will I recognize this restriction? I mean; If I cannot recognize full now; how will I recognize it after surgery? I want to "undereat" my sleeve. But, I have never been able to undereat anything! How can I do this after surgery?

Jeff - Located in East Tennessee; Surgery by Dr. Mark Colquitt on 4/12/2013

Highest Weight- 511; Initial Consultation Weight - 474; Surgery Weight 450    

starry957
on 3/14/13 1:55 pm

Well, I am no expert - being only 9 weeks out.  But, I ALWAYS measure my food - your post op plan will give you guidelines.  I, often, can't eat everything I've prepared for a meal, but sometimes I do - which is why I always measure (ie 1/4 cups, ounces, etc).  I have had a bit much only a couple of times, by accident really - was able to eat too quickly that day and then SUDDENLY was too full.  It still is amazing to feel hungry and then to be "satisfied" so quickly.  The "full" feeling I get is almost the same as the full feeling I got before surgery, except it is accompanied by some indigestion - if I've overdone it, which isn't often.  I know that if I'm even starting to have a bit of indigestion - I'm probably done.

January 8th, 2013 - VSG with Dr Paul Sullivan (St Joe's Toronto)

jpsp30
on 3/14/13 10:40 pm - TN

I think measuring is a good idea. It is not something that I do now of course; but I will have to. Thanks for addressing this wiht me.

Julie J.
on 3/14/13 2:02 pm - NV

I asked my surgeon this exact question and he said to under eat the sleeve. That I should only eat to 80% full and not till I am stuffed. Guess I will have to see what that feels like once I get my sleeve.

jpsp30
on 3/14/13 10:42 pm - TN