Scared

sarahpillars2728
on 6/28/13 5:17 am - MI

Well ladies and Gents last week I went and did routine blood work because I finally got some kind of insurance and am seeing a new doctor, anyhow I got my blood work back and the dr wants to see me about the results I however cannot get into see her until the 8th and I have viewed them online and my A1c level was 7.5% I am afraid the dr is going to tell me that I am not diabetic.... I don't know what to do I am trying to calm my nerves this isn't a good thing on one hand it could help my disability case but on the other hand this is so not helping my body urrrrggg I cannot wait to finally have this surgery and make my body healthy again!!

NursingQueen
on 6/28/13 5:26 am - Philadelphia, PA
VSG on 08/26/13

I'm a nurse and your A1C is high which means you do have it. Go see your doctor and do what they ask to stay save. Most likely your diabetes will go away or be super under control when you have the surgery. My A1C was 5.9 and the doctor said I'm knocking at the door! Keep your head up!

Pre-Op: 257.6   Surgery: 241.6  Pre-op: 16  M1: 21.6  M2: 13.9

MsBatt
on 6/28/13 6:02 am

With an A1c that high, and weighing 485 pounds, I strongly urge you to consider getting the full Duodenal Switch instead of just the Sleeve. I'm not saying that the Sleeve isn't a good surgery, or that you won't/can't lose enough weight with it alone, or that you won't eventually get your diabetes under control with it. What I am saying is that the DS has the very best long-term, maintained weight-loss stats for patients of any size, but especially so for those of us with a BMI greater than 50. It also has the best stats for resolving or preventing diabetes and high cholesterol.