I am new to the site.

alicia0206
on 10/17/13 10:13 am

Hello, 

I am new to the site but wanted to put something out there. I am 22 years old and 322 pounds. I just got the news today that my insurance has approved my surgery! I am going to get the sleeve. I still have one more appointment before my Pre-Admission testing day, but I should have my surgery before Thanksgiving. Oh my, am I going to enjoy Thanksgiving this year? Of course I will because I will be on my road to a healthy life. Anybody want to tell me about their personal experience at any stage of this process please do as I do not know anyone who has done this surgery. 

Can't wait to have a date scheduled!!!!!!!!!!! 

Bye Bye. 

bugsy
on 10/17/13 11:53 am
VSG on 10/10/13

Hi Alicia,

I am new to this site as well.  I just got my sleeve on 10/10/13 and love it so far!  My recovery has been been pretty easy but I guess after two c-sections and lap band surgery, I am a veteran at this type of thing.   The best advice I can give you after surgery is get up and walk..  Initially it doesn't feel to hot but in the long run it truly helps speed up your recovery. Wishing you a great journey!

Mandy

1enviousladybug
on 10/17/13 1:00 pm

Yay to you Alicia and all that are on this thread, I can't wait to complete alll of my pre-op test and get an approval. I'm happy for you. Good luck wink

Deckeriv
on 10/17/13 10:09 pm - TX
VSG on 03/26/13

The best advice I can give is: 1. Enjoy the drugs during the surgery and especially afterward. You will get a big bottle of liquid hydrocodone and need to take it as prescribed. A lot of people don't...saying "I don't like taking drugs" but honestly your body needs the relief even if you can stand the pain. Your stomach was cut and is freaking out. Let it rest that first two weeks.