Time off question for post ops

kellma699
on 1/2/14 1:48 pm
VSG on 02/04/14
Hi, I am a full text me student and work part time, only about 8 hours per week. I have no issue taking 2 weeks off of work, but cannot miss much class. Do you think if I had surgery on a Thursday and went back to class on the following Tuesday, that it would be enough time? I have 2 hours of class, an hour break and then another hour class this next quarter. I could use that hour napping in my car. My husband is also a full time student and we can ride together so I don't need to drive. He will also take care of everything at home and our 12 year old. So basically my only responsibilities at first will be taking notes in class and doing homework. Do you think this is possible? Could you have handled it? My surgeon thinks it will be fine but I am nervous.
kellma699
on 1/2/14 1:49 pm
VSG on 02/04/14
*full time, not full text me. Lol silly phone.
mickeymantle
on 1/2/14 2:09 pm - Eugene/Springfield, OR
VSG on 07/22/13

it might be possible but it would be hard , I would talk to the teacher  about your needs the first week you will need to walk around  5 minutes every hour to prevent blood clots , also you will need to be drinking all day , and you may need to go to the bathroom , diarrhea  is a common problem the first few weeks, also 

you may have problems paying attention ,, it might be better if you could have your surgery during spring break or the summer  

175 lb  lost,412 hw 336sw,241 cw surgery July 22 2013,surgeon Dr Colin MacColl,

Debra M.
on 1/2/14 2:12 pm - TX
VSG on 03/26/13

You will start walking right after surgery, so I agree with your doctor.  After a week of being cooped up you will be ready to get out of the house.  I was off all pain meds by day 4.  Sounds like you have a plan.  Remember that each day is better than the previous day. Go with your plan and play it by ear.  We are all different.  Good luck.

Diana E.
on 1/2/14 3:03 pm
VSG on 03/27/13