Starvation mode

mickeymantle
on 1/8/14 3:46 am - Eugene/Springfield, OR
VSG on 07/22/13

is Starvation mode  real or a myth ,

is there any legitimate scientific  studies on it

my surgeon, pcp and nut   all say it is a myth, that your body will not go into starvation mode if you have fat to burn

But you see it every where ,even myfitnesspal.com  warns you that you are eating to little and will go into starvation mode

175 lb  lost,412 hw 336sw,241 cw surgery July 22 2013,surgeon Dr Colin MacColl,

Sandy M.
on 1/8/14 4:26 am - Detroit Lakes, MN
Revision on 05/08/13

Here's my understanding.  Disclaimer - I am not a scientist!

Eating very low calories WILL eventually slow down our metabolic rate, causing us to lose weight more slowly than at the beginning.  BUT, and this is a big but, for obese people, this doesn't happen until all the fat stores are used up.  And we'll still lose more weight at those calories than we would at higher calories even if our metabolic rate has slowed.  Which is why it's a myth.

Now, that being said, at a very low calorie rate (the 400-800 a lot of us do), it's hard to get the nutritional requirements in, which is why supplements are so important for us.  Plus, we need to consume enough calories to enable us to move without taking naps all the time.  The more exercise, the more calories needed.

Height 5'4"  HW:223 Lap band 2006, revised to Sleeve 5/8/2013, SW:196

Grim_Traveller
on 1/8/14 4:52 am
RNY on 08/21/12

Starvation mode as most people think of it is crap. Total crap. If you are eating fewer calories than you burn, you will lose weight. Especially if you are obese. 

Your metabolism will slow down if you are on a very low calorie diet for an extended period. The most famous study, the Minnesota starvation experiment, showed about a 15% reduction in metabolism, but none of those subjects were obese to start with. But even those men, at less than 5% body fat, continued to lose weight on a calorie deficit.