Well, I learned a few things today

mustlovepoodles
on 2/3/14 12:27 pm
VSG on 12/31/13

I am 5 weeks postop tomorrow, so I'm pretty well back to real life. Still struggling with the fluids, but i'm getting about 50gms protein from food now. I had to go on some home visits that required me to drive about 60 miles from home (I'm a nurse.) When I got up this morning I was mildly  nauseous, so i took some Zofran, grabbed my protein drink and went to work. I wisely packed two little packages of tuna salad and chicken salad for later.  I forgot to take my vitamins, but i found some in my purse. Unfortunately, things when downhill from there.

By 3pm I had ingested exactly 32 ounces of fluid. There is no way i would be able to get in an additional 32 ounces by 11pm, although I've made a valiant effort.  I'm really glad I brought the little tins of tuna/chicken salad. I was able to take time out to eat them between visits. Unfortunately, I totally forgot the calcium so I'm woefully behind in that too. On the way home, the traffic was hideous (I live in the metro-Atlanta area--traffic is always hideous) so I decided to go to Cracker Barrel, get some breakfast for supper, and wait out the worst of the traffic. I was very good--I got an eggbeater and 1 turkey sausage patty, with cheese grits to help me get that down.  I did great with the protein, got most of it down with the help of a small amount of grits. 

Afterward I decided to look around in the store area and that was my downfall.  I was really surprised at how the malted milkballs were calling my name!  And the moonpies!  I should have left IMMEDIATELY, as soon as I realized that I was in my own personal crack house.  Instead, I shopped around looking for a blouse and a toy for my son.  I landed in front of some Lindt caramel truffles and my hand reached out and got one. I had several opportunities to put it back, but I bought it anyway and I ate it as soon as I got in the car. And it was delicious, might I add.