Anyone have problems with high vitamin levels

drea29
on 5/21/14 8:51 am

I am around the corner from 2 years post up.  I went to the doctor the other day and he always checks my vitamin levels.  The last time I was there 6 months ago, he said my B12 was too high and to cut back to every other day.  I did, but they are still very high.  He now said once a week or maybe not at all.  Also my Vitamin A, C and E levels were all high.  I take Bariatric Advantage vitamins and the dose is 2 a day.  I was told to cut back to one. On most days I eat around 1000 calories.  I have been maintaining since Sept 2013.  I am not sure what is going on with my body.  I eat very healthy and I always leave room for my veggies.  Good news I weighed in at 134.  Just wondered it anyone had to change the amount of vitamins they are taking.  He also wants me to have a bone scan.  He said just because my calcium levels are normal does not mean that the calcium isn't leaking from my bones.  I think it is probably because of my age too.  I had one 5 years ago and it was fine.  More weight heavier bones is what I was told.  

(deactivated member)
on 5/21/14 11:46 am, edited 5/21/14 11:47 am

My docs (PCP and bariatric) are also very calcium conscientious! I turned 50 this year and there was talk about a bone density scan, and I'm a guy! go figure. My levels are all fine and I do weight bearing exercise regularly, so I'm hoping to hold off on the scan for a while anyway.

I have been taking "normal" people vitamins because other than B12, Iron, and Copper absorption which happens in the stomach we don't really have any absorption issues. I use regular Centrum I buy at Costco. So much less expensive than what you are buying, too.

My doc had me on no more than 3000 mcg of B12 per week from the get go. I pop a 2500 mcg sublingual per week and that seems to do the trick.