Gerd / nausea - any suggestions?

missc_26
on 10/28/16 9:07 pm
VSG on 10/03/16

Hi everyone 

I have done plenty of research and checked the site and I'm pretty confident I'm suffering from Gerd. I never experienced this before the surgery.

I'm nearly 4 weeks post op VSG and I haven't been able to sleep without a tri pillow propping me up since the op.  If I try I get a burning sensation at the top of my chest and i always wake with a taste like I've chewed copper all night long ugh! I'm taking the prescribed PPI omeprazole which seemed to be helping and following my surgeons instructions religiously. She is happy with things and said to just continue as is. I take a probiotic and kefir water daily. I have to take multiple medications before I go to bed (they must be taken at this time) and I worry this is making the acid reflux worse but know I have to take them.

It really kicked off again a few days ago when I graduated to making homemade spaghetti sauce (Lamb mince no pasta) and hasn't really stopped. So in my reading I see tomato and garlic can be bad, lesson learned. I woke up thinking I was choking on my own vomit (I want but it felt that way).

I'm terrified it will never resolve itself and I guess I'm after advice from anyone who also has experienced this, how it has turned out.  Also generally just after some support because I'm pretty tired from sleeping upright and worried about the whole thing... but I will add I am happy with my decision and committed to do what I have to do to get and stay healthy.

Thanks for taking the time to read this :)

DakotaCJ
on 10/28/16 9:44 pm

Hi!