VSG in Ohio - Insurance, letter of medical necessity and Requirements

andriyuhh
on 12/5/17 5:29 pm

Hello, I am looking for some advice and info about having the vsg done. I am going to choose between Paramount Advantage and United Health (both Medicaid) and I'm having a hard time getting information and the requirements. A lot of post I have seen are a lot older and I'm new to this site so I am still learning how to get around. If you guys have advice or info that would be great.

Also i you know of any physicians in the Toledo, Ohio area who don't want an arm, both legs and my spine for a letter of medical necessity that would be a great piece of info to get. I only ask because I am currently looking for a new physician as I havent been going to the doctor consecutively for some time due to lack of insurance and doctors with horrible bedside manners. I went to the same pediatrician till i was 20 (24 now) and I'm sure I have plenty of medical history of morbid obesity and trying different diets, a visit with recorded weight in 2015 and 2016 or 17. Thanks for reading my post and again information you guys can give would be great!!!

Knitter215
on 12/6/17 8:38 am
VSG on 08/23/16

I would call customer service numbers for both carriers and just straight up ask what they cover or don't and what the requirements are. Or search their websites - each plan is going to vary.

Keep on losing!

Diana

HW 271.5 (April 2016) SW 246.9 (8/23/16) CW 158 (5/2/18)

andriyuhh
on 12/6/17 10:11 pm

Will do!!! Thanks for replying!

Sparklekitty, Science-Loving Derby Hag
on 12/6/17 8:46 am
RNY on 08/05/19

Every insurance plan is different. Your best bet is to call the insurance companies, give them the info on the plan you're looking for, and ask for specific coverage requirements for bariatric surgery.