Can't Get Enough Protein And Water

Mindy325
on 8/9/18 7:38 pm
VSG on 06/26/18

Hi everyone. I guess you could say I'm a newbie. I was here probably back in 2005 when I had the Lap Band, but couldn't find my login info from that time. They were never able to settle on the correct fill level for me, so I had them remove the band and give me the sleeve. I'm in the 7th week post VSG. I'm struggling to get the water and the required amount of protein in. I'm feeling abdominal tightness and heaviness before I get 2 ounces in. I'm trying to stay in ketosis, so that's just protein. If I just stop when I feel uncomfortable, I'll never make the total for protein for the day. It's really mostly baked fish, turkey cold cuts, and peanut butter for now. I'm not even having chicken, beef, or pork yet. Since I have to get as close to the total protein as possible, I've been having a lot of misery but thankfully no vomiting yet. I've mentioned this to the dietitian, the PA, and the surgeon. No one is at all concerned at this point. Any suggestions on how to get the protein in? The protein shakes are not much easier. An 8.5 ounce shake will take me 1.5 hours. 64 ounces of water? Yeah, right! Needless to say, there is no room for vegetables/fiber so you can just about guess the other problem I'm having. I'm very discouraged. Only 20 pounds down and I'm in my 7th week. A couple of people say I look smaller, so maybe I lost a few inches. Or they're just being nice because they see my suffering. I never measured my starting inches, but my clothes aren't that loose. I've also had esophageal spasms so I take the Hyoscyamine when needed. The scale has been stuck for weeks, and I'm a bit weak from lack of protein, but I do what I can exercise-wise. Has anyone else had these problems? Any help is appreciated. Thanks.
NYMom222
on 8/9/18 7:54 pm
RNY on 07/23/14