Stall?

kpoppenga
on 1/9/19 5:03 pm
VSG on 11/19/18

Hey Everyone,

I just joined this website as I am fairly new to the gastric sleeve world. I just had mine done 11/16/18, so I am just about 8 weeks out.

I have read that stalls happen, but, I already appear to be hitting one and it's very disappointing. I weigh myself once a week (Fridays) and last week I didn't lose anything. I cheated a bit this week with weigh ins because I was so upset about last week and right now, I seem to be on track to not lose anything again. I know everyone's bodies are different and everyone loses differently but I can't help but feel so disappointed in myself.

I did start solid food about 2.5 weeks ago. And, I still really am not eating too much solid food as I am a little scared to introduce new foods (I have experienced dumping syndrome twice). I don't eat carbs at all nor do I purposely eat anything with sugar. I am working out 3-4 times a week on the treadmill. I walk 30-45 minutes each time on an incline with various speeds (I typically speed up fast, do a cool down, speed up, cool down...etc).

For some background, I am down 34lbs since my surgery date and was steadily losing each week prior to this "stall" (if that's what it is).

I guess what I'm getting at is...is this normal? I know it's a ridiculous question because there's no real "normal" when it comes to this surgery and how everyone loses, but, I am upset and bummed. Any advice or assurance will be greatly appreciated!!

-Katie

Gwen M.
on 1/10/19 5:22 am
VSG on 03/13/14

Hi and welcome!

Stalls are totally 100% normal. Most people seem to have one at the 3 week mark - you made it to 8! :)

Are you tracking what you're eating with something like MyFitnessPal? How much protein are you getting each day? How much liquid are you drinking each day?

34 pounds in 8 weeks is awesome. :) When was the last time you did that?! Why are you disappointed in ~4 pounds a week?! That's great!