Taking the good with the bad

(deactivated member)
on 1/10/19 11:52 am

So, good news! I now weigh less than I did when I graduated from High School in 1989! Can you believe that? I barely can. I've been losing a steady 2lbs/week since my surgery on 11/20. Not as much as some fast losers, but it feels like nothing to sneeze at.

Bad news... Food is truly stressing me out. I don't get enough water or enough protein. My surgeon's office says eat 1000-1100 calories, 150g carbs, 60-80g protein, 20g fat and drink at least 64oz water. I can't do that!

Experienced sleevers say eat low carbs and high protein, which translates into much more than 20g of fat. I don't drink protein shakes, so getting that much protein is a real struggle.

So, I feel like I'm always eating, thinking about eating, worried about food, stressing about what I haven't eaten or what I need to eat. I feel like I'm a hostage to food in a way I wasn't before my surgery!

Where are the quality, peer-reviewed studies? Does LCHP work in the long term? Is "keto" a fad diet? How can fruits and vegetables that have natural sugars be bad for me but protein shakes with sugar substitutes be good?

Mostly this is just a rant. I look at what people are eating to get ideas. But that doesn't assure me that I should eat that way. My surgeon's office is hopeless and I don't trust them to give me quality advice.

Finally, my wedding ring doesn't fit! I had to take it off and wear it on a chain. This makes me feel weirdly sad even though it's a good sign.

AnnieG522
on 1/10/19 2:15 pm
VSG on 10/05/17

Congratulations on your loss! And I understand. I cannot eat much at a time and I'm 15 months out. I do 85grams protein, 30 g fat, and the remainder of about 1200 calories in healthy carbs, mostly vegetables. Fruit causes a rapid rise in blood sugar, and then I crash.

I do use the protein shakes (in my coffee in lieu of creamer and sweetner.