New here looking for ????

lilfatgirlfrommissouri
on 4/19/11 1:14 am - MO
Im new to OH.. im 28 3kids and married. ive been overweight since 11, 12 ish.. i go for my first consult for weightloss surgery on may 9th any tips? or advise? thanks in advance!!!

(deactivated member)
on 4/19/11 8:59 am
My advice is to have a surgery that keeps a normal functioning stomach that doesn't require putting a foreign object in you. That means the duodenal switch (DS) and vertical sleeve gastrectomy (vsg) are the best options. You can research the DS at www.dsfacts.com. If you don't want the malabsorbtion then get the VSG.
Nathalie R.
on 4/19/11 10:28 am - Oklahoma City, OK
First off congratulations on starting this process. It is a ride and at least for me in the end it has been worth it. I would like to start off by saying research all the surgeries and choose the best one for you. The only person who can make that choice is you.

I had RNY surgery a little over a year ago. I started off at 296 and as of today I am 143. I was a 26/28pants and 26/28 shirt, I am a med/lg juniors shirt, 8 pants, and 8/10 dress. I am still losing but slowly. I had a hell of a time in the beginning. With the Rny I got stricture after stricture and ended up having 11 endoscopies. I also had to have my gallbladder removed 2 months after gastric bypass. It was really rough and I spend a lot of time in the hospital but I would do the surgery again in a heart beat. This has given me my life back. Rny was the best choice for me because I needed the "extra" restriction and rules. I have friends who have done well on all of the surgeries but I have friends who have done bad also. It all depends on how committed you are to getting the results you want in the end. I do wish you luck in whatever you choose. Feel free to ask me any questions if you have any. 

Nathalie

*~*~* True Beauty lies within the Imperfections *~*~*
Find me on Facebook...
http://www.facebook.com/profile.php?id=1437043148&ref=name