Quitting smoking before surgery?

harmerel194
on 10/4/11 5:13 am
I've wanted to quit smoking for a couple of years now, but have never found the motivation to do so. My sister is also considering weight loss surgery and had her first appointment last week. She quit smoking about 6 months ago. She told me that the doctor told her that she needs to continue to not smoke, and she told me that I also will need to quit smoking to have my surgery. I am ok with this, like i've said, i've wanted to quit for a while now. I'm ready to start a healthier life style and change the bad habits that I've been doing for many years. I guess my question is this: have any of you experienced having to quit smoking for your surgery? And how long do you need to not smoke before they will do it? I'm just worried that because I'm just quitting now that it might draw out the process of setting a surgery date and being approved and what not.
Ashleyxx
on 10/4/11 5:41 am - Detroit, MI
Hey Harmerel, every surgeon is different but mine says 30 days before surgery. If he has any doubts that you didnt stop he will give you a nicotine test and if it comes up postive he will not preform surgery on you.

I thought I would be getting surgery early in the year (still trying to find a new PCP since my surgeon has switched hospitals) and I quit in April (I slipped up a day or two, but brushed myself up and tried again) and have been smoke free since. I wont lie it is hard, but everyday gets better and better. My surgeon said if I needed any help at all he could prescribe me the pill or patches, but I wanted to try cold turkey and I was able too.

Good luck, if you get the urges just think about how bad you want surgery!!
harmerel194
on 10/4/11 7:19 am
Thank you! I'm trying to quit cold turkey as well. Wish me luck!
jfur
on 10/4/11 11:20 pm - Topeka, KS