RNY Becoming a Reality Soon

MaMaMaRTiNeZz
on 9/10/12 9:02 am - Los Angeles, CA
RNY on 11/01/12
Some of you on the 20's board are familiar with me and may know that I have been hoping for RNY WLS for about 2 1/2 years now. A combination of distraction, no discipline, and fear caused me to avoid surgery for this long. I started the surgical program with South Bay Surgeons in March of 2010. It is now September 2012 and I am almost to my goal pre-op required weight loss of 285 pounds from 305. A little bit about my story, when I started this program in 2010, I was 292 pounds and was given a required 25 pound weight loss, I struggled and failed numerous times and not only that I was dealing with anxiety and panic attacks caused by life in general, I was a full time student and worked full time and was in a not so great marriage. Fast forward to now and my life although with its normal stressors, is going better and I am a much happier person except for my weight. I feel like I have already completed or on my way to completing most of my personal goals except for my body image and health and I am now more than ready and it has shown. After beginning the program at 292 pounds I climbed to 315, but my highest recorded weight was 311. I met with the doctor and pleaded with her to reduce the pre-op required weight loss. By the time I had asked I was down to 305 and she revised the original required weight goal and allowed me to only lose 20 pounds from 305 with a goal of 285. That was in February 2012. As of September 7, 2012 I am 296 pounds and only 12 from my goal. I saw my doctor on Sept. 7 and she surprised me by telling me that she was going to WRITE THE ORDERS TO SUBMIT FOR AUTHORIZATION IMMEDIATELY. I was caught off guard because usually after these appointments I am left feeling disappointed and just walk out of the office. This time, I was called into a seperate office and given the "goodies". Basically in my surgeons office, once you receive a Lovenox box and a sta