Is it Mind Over Matter?

Jennifer G.
on 3/25/15 10:24 am

So of course I'm new to this whole new life style.  I was wondering if anyone went through the start of their weight loss feeling they are losing the weight but when they looked in the mirror didn't see it? 

I'm asking because in the start of my progress I felt the weight coming off because my clothes were getting bigger on me. But whenever I looked in the mirror I felt like I was still the same person who started this whole thing at 299 pounds. Is this normal? 

Gastro sleeve 11/20/2014, Starting weight 299, Current weight 230.5 ,Goal weight 190 or less.   

TanyaRN
on 3/25/15 10:31 am - Palm Bay, FL

very normal.....I am 11 years out and Still sometimes see the old me. Chronicle your journey with pics, measurements, et****pt one pair of my old jeans. It was a real eye opener to put those on and watch them fall to the floor

Jennifer G.
on 3/25/15 10:36 am

I'm putting my old clothes on still.  I can now fit into size 22 pants ans 2x shirt but I still put my 26/28 pants on and my 5 or 6x shirts. I can't seem to say goodbye to the big clothes. And everyone keeps saying what are you doing? And I'm always saying nothing what does it look I'm doing lol. And their response is you don't fit them anymore they ate swimming on you. And I say but I'm comfortable so what's the big deal. And then I get dirty looks. 

I know this is all new to me because I'm only four months into this but when do I finally give up my old life style and take on my new one?

Gastro sleeve 11/20/2014, Starting weight 299, Current weight 230.5 ,Goal weight 190 or less.   

Price S.
on 3/25/15 12:05 pm - Mills River, NC

it took me quite a while to come to grips with the "new" me.  And I kept heading into the big girl area of shops.  I couldn't figure out who that was in the mirror.  I still look at my pants before I put them on and wonder how they will ever fit.

yep, it is a process.